Home > Nutrition > Healthy Recipes > Red Beans and Rice > User Review  
Red Beans and Rice Recipe - User Reviews
(126 ratings) 
Recipe: Red Beans and Rice Mar 3, 2010
Awesome
Reviewed By: Diet.com Member
I am from Louisiana and this is one of our main dishes. Naturally, I use my own spices but it is basically the same main ingredients.
0 out of 0 diet.com users found this review useful.
Was this review useful to you?     
Recipe: Red Beans and Rice Jun 21, 2009
Love this one!
Reviewed By: Diet.com Member
I love Red Beans and Rice i don`t mush mine up too much and i skip the peppers (in favor of more garlic hehe) but this is an awsome thing to make for lunches to take to work.
1 out of 1 diet.com users found this review useful.
Was this review useful to you?     
Recipe: Red Beans and Rice Sep 16, 2006
Just awful
Reviewed By: Diet.com Member
I thought that using fresh ingredients and following the recipe to a T would produce something palatable; but boy was I wrong. This dish was a complete waste of time and energy as we ended up throwing the whole concoction, literally, out the door.
0 out of 1 diet.com users found this review useful.
Was this review useful to you?     
Recipe: Red Beans and Rice Apr 6, 2006
Needs some spicin` up
Reviewed By: Diet.com Member
This recipe can easily be improved without impacting the calorie count too heavily. For one, I substituted 4 cups of the total water with 4 cups of vegetarian vegetable broth (if you`re watching your sodium, go for low-salt).It makes the beans take a bit longer to soften (about 20 extra minutes), but it gives the dish a lot more flavor. Also, to the spices I added a tsp. of crushed cayenne pepper and a tsp. of dried chipotle pepper. Emeril Lagasse also makes a spice rub that has a Cajun theme, which I added nearly a tablespoon of. I topped it off with some Tabasco Garlic sauce, and it was delicious! Obviously my version makes it much more spicy, but you could add curries or some milder hot sauce/crushed peppers to get the same flavor with less heat. Also, one time I tried adding some chopped-up, cooked chicken hot dogs (the chicken hot dogs are much lower in fat and calories than regular). I recommend broiling or grilling the dogs, to get a smokier taste. That addition was a HUGE hit, and really completed the
4 out of 4 diet.com users found this review useful.
Was this review useful to you?     
 
Recipe of the Day
 
June 27, 2019
Cabbage Soup Cabbage Soup
Category: Crockpot/Slow-Cooker
Calories: 60
Rating:
June 26, 2019
Blueberry Crumble Blueberry Crumble
Category: Dessert
Calories: 150
Rating:
June 25, 2019
Eggs And Cactus Eggs And Cactus
Category: Breakfast Idea
Calories: 68
Rating:
June 24, 2019
Golden Apple Oatmeal Golden Apple Oatmeal
Category: Breakfast Idea
Calories: 190
Rating:
June 23, 2019
Breakfast Fruit Cup Breakfast Fruit Cup
Category: Breakfast Idea
Calories: 90
Rating:


McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams