Gluten is a type of food protein found mainly in barley, wheat and rye. Gluten is the substance which provides elasticity to bread and allows it rise, is also gives the bread it’s characteristics chewy structure. Most of us are not even aware what Gluten is and what difference it makes to avoid gluten in our diet.
Many people suffer from symptoms like bloating, Diarrhoea, stomach ache after consuming food made from barley, wheat or rye. They themselves are not aware of their gluten intolerance, and often end up blaming the quality of the food for their sufferings.
People suffering from gluten intolerance are generally troubled by celiac disease. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease which gets triggered by gluten intake and damages the inner lining of the smaller intestine. Many other grains also contain gluten but gluten found in wheat, barley and rye are known to cause severe health issues among gluten intolerants.
Farro is a form of ancient food which mainly composed of grains from different wheat species. It has a nutty flavour, though it is sold as a dried food but it is consumed after softening it in water. Though Farro is quite popular due its nutty flavor and easy cooking techniques, but it may be harmful for gluten intolerants. It can be easily be replaced by wheat berries, spelt berries and Kamut berries.
Barley is another grain containing gluten, and it should be avoided by both who have celiac and non-celiac gluten sensitivity. Barley can be easily replaced by buckwheat or quinoa in soups and stews.
Brown rice and green lentils also serve as a good substitute in many recipes. Unlike its name buckwheat is in no way related to wheat and is completely gluten free. It’s is a grain like seed having high antioxidants like rutin and quercetin.
Gluten free food and diet is becoming more popular as many are getting aware of their gluten intolerance. People not having gluten intolerance are also opting for gluten free food as it helps in weight loss and better cardiac health.
To know more visit Wat-Not