Tricia Thompson, MS, RD is a nutrition consultant, author and speaker specializing in celiac disease and the gluten-free diet. She is the author of The Gluten-Free Nutrition Guide and has a MS degree in nutrition from Tufts University in Boston, Massachusetts and a BA degree in English Literature from Middlebury College in Vermont.

» Meet Tricia Thompson, MS, RD
» Save Author as Favorite
» See all TriciaThompsonMS/RD's Posts

Recent Posts

» Tips for Traveling Gluten Free
» My 5 Favorite Gluten-Free Processed Foods
» 3 Easy Ways to Increase Celiac Awareness
» 5 Gluten-Free New Year’s Resolutions
» Gluten-Free Holiday Casseroles, Cookies


» November 2008
» October 2008
» September 2008
» August 2008
» July 2008
» June 2008

Living Gluten-Free

by Tricia Thompson, MS, RD, The Gluten-Free Dietitian
Subscribe to this feed Subscribe

The question of whether vinegar is safe to include in a gluten-free diet is being asked again.

Vinegar was recently addressed in the Dietitians in Gluten Intolerance Diseases Corner column (volume 28, no. #3, winter 2009) I write for Medical Nutrition Matters, a newsletter for the Medical Nutrition Practice Group of the American Dietetic Association. I thought it would be helpful to share some of the information from that column with you. The article has been adapted with permission. Information was jointly compiled by Tricia Thompson, MS, RD, Cynthia Kupper, RD, Melinda Dennis, MS, RD, LD, Mary K Sharrett, MS, RD, LD, CNSD, Anne Lee, MSEd, RD, LD, and Pam Cureton, RD, LDN.

Under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act there are no standards of identity for vinegar. Among other things, standards of identity define what ingredients must or may be used in the manufacture of food. There is, however, a Compliance Policy Guide (CPG 7109.22, Section 525.825) for vinegar that includes definitions for various types of vinegars, some of which are included below. These definitions remain FDA policy for labeling purposes.

Vinegar, Cider Vinegar, Apple Vinegar: The product made by the alcoholic and subsequent acetous fermentations of the juice of apples.

Wine Vinegar, Grape Vinegar: The product made by the alcoholic and subsequent acetous fermentations of the juice of grapes.

Malt Vinegar: The product made by the alcoholic and subsequent acetous fermentations, without distillation, of the infusion of barley malt or cereals whose starch has been converted to malt.

Spirit Vinegar, Distilled Vinegar, Grain Vinegar: The product made by the acetous fermentation of dilute distilled alcohol.

Historically, there have been four areas of concern surrounding the use of vinegar in gluten-free diets:

1. Is distilled vinegar gluten free? Yes, 100% distilled vinegar is made from distilled alcohol and all "pure" distilled alcohol is gluten free. This is true even if the starting material is wheat, barley, or rye. During distillation the liquid from fermented grain mash is boiled and the resulting vapor is captured and cooled. This causes the vapor to become liquid again. Because protein doesn't vaporize there are no proteins in the cooled liquid.

2. Is all non-distilled vinegar gluten free? Almost, but read ingredient lists carefully. According to The Vinegar Institute, the most commonly used starting materials for vinegar are apple, grape, corn, and rice. If non-distilled vinegar uses ...    Continue

1 | 2    Next Page

@ 1:16pm ET on June 2, 2009
Thanks for posting this. The more times an expert gives rational, scientifically-sound advice, the more likely it is that the gf community will actually listen. (Though I'll bet there will always be someone saying they don't believe distillation "works".)

@ 1:42pm ET on June 2, 2009
You are very welcome! It is hard to believe we (the gluten-free community)are still discussing the safety of distilled vinegar after all these years!


@ 5:03pm ET on June 5, 2009
I have to respectfully differ with you on the gluten status of most vinegars. I belong to a forum for those who are super-sensitive to gluten (glutenzap.com). Part of our mission statement is to ferret out hidden sources of gluten cross contamination, because our members react to very, very small amounts. Several of our members have gotten positive tests for gluten (using the EZ Gluten home testing kit) on distilled vinegars. ELISA Technologies, the company that manufactures the EZ Gluten test, has investigated and backed up these results with additional testing under laboratory conditions. The tests indicate that the amount of gluten in the various vinegars tested is very small (on the order of 5ppm or less). However, that’s enough to cause a reaction in those of us who are super-sensitive to gluten. Naturally fermented vinegars are available that test negative for gluten and do not cause a reaction in people who are super-sensitive to gluten. We’re fortunate to have this type of testing technology, which wasn’t available even a few years ago, to conclusively determine the gluten status of the products we use.

@ 3:46pm ET on June 8, 2009
For those of you who are interested, I will be writing a blog on the EZ gluten home test soon. In the meantime, I have been in contact with Thomas Grace, CEO of Bia Diagnostics (www.biadiagnostics.com) and this is what he had to say about using the EZ Gluten home test to assess vinegars for gluten, "I would not put any merit into any results from these tests alone especially coming from un-trained people. One would have to confirm any results with a second method (preferably certified). Also, keep in mind unless the sample (in this case vinegar) is pH adjusted to a range compatible for this specific method (EZ Gluten home test) to start, the acid in the vinegar will most likely cleave the Ab conjugate, change the binding kinetics, strip the Abs from the nitrocellulose and render the assay inaccurate.”

@ 10:15pm ET on June 8, 2009

Interesting info on the test kits. Will be eagerly waiting your post!



@ 3:43pm ET on June 22, 2009
Hi everyone,

I contacted Elisa Technologies regarding their testing of vinegars and this is what they told me,

"There has been no detectable gluten in any vinegar sample we have tested using the EZ Gluten or HAVen High Sensitivity Gluten ELISA, when the tests were performed and interpreted following the kit instructions."


@ 10:25am ET on October 14, 2010
A most informative article, thanks! I have an intolerance to barley. Would the distillation process produce a safe malt vinegar for such an intolerance?

@ 9:01am ET on October 15, 2010
Hi Michael,

Malt vinegar is fermented but not distilled. As a result, malt vinegar contains barley protein.


@ 6:41pm ET on July 12, 2011
When I tried ingesting anything containing 'Distilled Vinegar' I had the same reaction as having eaten gluten. I will not go anywhere near distilled vinegar! Please be careful. Of course Cider vinegar and balsamic are fine.

@ 6:43pm ET on July 12, 2011
PS: I wonder how many of the scientists that tested Distilled Vinegar have Celiac Disease and have actually eaten it. Hmmmmmmmmm.....

@ 10:39pm ET on September 4, 2013
I have every symptom of eating gluten when I eat distilled vinegar. There must be something to it.
Post a Comment

Hot Topics

diet, weight loss, fitness, motivation, abs, restaurants, health, calories, stress, challenge, gyms, support, goals, points, exercise, metabolism, food, recipe

Most Popular Searches

Most Popular Blogs

» Longer, Leaner Thighs: 5 Best Exercises
» We Announce The Challenge WINNER!
» Best Vitamins Dieters Not Getting
» The Dangerous Escape Food Provides
» Janel Hits The Farmers Market

Highest Rated Blogs

» Stop Being a People Pleaser
» 4 Healthy Bun Choices for the Weight-Watcher
» 5 Benefits of Cross-Training (even if you're 50+)
» 5 Healthy Ingredients You Can Add to Anything
» The Top 10 Workout Songs for June 2016

Sign up for our free diet newsletter
We respect your privacy. We will never share your email address with a 3rd party for any reason.