Tricia Thompson, MS, RD is a nutrition consultant, author and speaker specializing in celiac disease and the gluten-free diet. She is the author of The Gluten-Free Nutrition Guide and has a MS degree in nutrition from Tufts University in Boston, Massachusetts and a BA degree in English Literature from Middlebury College in Vermont.

» Meet Tricia Thompson, MS, RD
» Save Author as Favorite
» See all TriciaThompsonMS/RD's Posts

Recent Posts

» Tips for Traveling Gluten Free
» My 5 Favorite Gluten-Free Processed Foods
» 3 Easy Ways to Increase Celiac Awareness
» 5 Gluten-Free New Year’s Resolutions
» Gluten-Free Holiday Casseroles, Cookies


» November 2008
» October 2008
» September 2008
» August 2008
» July 2008
» June 2008

Living Gluten-Free

by Tricia Thompson, MS, RD, The Gluten-Free Dietitian
Subscribe to this feed Subscribe

by Tricia Thompson, MS, RD
The Gluten-Free Dietitian

You are eating gluten free and planning your first trip to the grocery store but how do you know whether a food is gluten free? Believe it or not, grocery shopping gluten free has never been easier.

Natural food stores like Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods, as well as an increasing number of regular supermarkets, sell an abundance of foods labeled “gluten-free.” For foods not labeled “gluten-free” you can tell if they are made using gluten-free ingredients by reading the food label.

In general, when determining whether a food product is made using gluten-containing ingredients you are looking for 5 words: wheat, barley, rye, oats, and malt. With a few exceptions, if you see any of these words in an ingredient list or a "contains" statement the food is not gluten free.

This simplified label reading is due in large part to the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act (otherwise known as FALCPA). This act mandates that if an ingredient in a food product contains protein from wheat, the word “wheat” must be included on the food label. FALCPA applies to foods regulated by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA)--all foods with the exception of meat, poultry, and egg products.

This means that you no longer have to sweat over many of the usual suspect ingredients"modified food starch and dextrin to name a couple. Regardless of whether these ingredients are included in an FDA-regulated food product, if you don’t see the word “wheat” on the label the food does not include any ingredients containing wheat protein. It really is that simple.

FALCPA does not apply to barley, rye, and oats but most ingredients that were questionable in the past were suspect because of the possibility they contained wheat. If barley is contained in a food product the ingredient name will almost always include the word “barley” or “malt”. Ingredients that contain rye and oats will generally include the words “rye” and “oats”.

Like ...    Continue

1 | 2    Next Page

@ 6:25pm ET on September 2, 2009
These facts are false, considering I have celiac disease and even when I eat products that say organic without having any allergy warning on it I get sick. I started to call before I ate the product and most of the products that claimed to be organic or 100% natural were facilitated with gluten products. so you still have to be careful what you eat and buy because there are food companies out there that aren't doing there job.

Post a Comment

Hot Topics

diet, weight loss, fitness, motivation, abs, restaurants, health, calories, stress, challenge, gyms, support, goals, points, exercise, metabolism, food, recipe

Most Popular Searches

Most Popular Blogs

» Longer, Leaner Thighs: 5 Best Exercises
» We Announce The Challenge WINNER!
» Best Vitamins Dieters Not Getting
» The Dangerous Escape Food Provides
» Janel Hits The Farmers Market

Highest Rated Blogs

» 5 Healthy Pumpkin-Flavored Foods to Try This Fall
» Summer can trigger panic mode
» How to Cut Back on Carbs Without Giving Up on Them
» Halloween Chocolate Ghost Boo-nana Pops
» 6 Tips to Add Healthy Whole Foods to Your Diet

Sign up for our free diet newsletter
We respect your privacy. We will never share your email address with a 3rd party for any reason.