Home > Expert Blogs > Living Gluten-Free  
About
Tricia Thompson, MS, RD is a nutrition consultant, author and speaker specializing in celiac disease and the gluten-free diet. She is the author of The Gluten-Free Nutrition Guide and has a MS degree in nutrition from Tufts University in Boston, Massachusetts and a BA degree in English Literature from Middlebury College in Vermont.

» Meet Tricia Thompson, MS, RD
» Save Author as Favorite
» See all TriciaThompsonMS/RD's Posts

Recent Posts

» Tips for Traveling Gluten Free
» My 5 Favorite Gluten-Free Processed Foods
» 3 Easy Ways to Increase Celiac Awareness
» 5 Gluten-Free New Year’s Resolutions
» Gluten-Free Holiday Casseroles, Cookies

Archive

» November 2008
» October 2008
» September 2008
» August 2008
» July 2008
» June 2008

Living Gluten-Free
by Tricia Thompson, MS, RD, The Gluten-Free Dietitian

Subscribe to this feed Subscribe

Recently I was asked about my thoughts on Teeccino brand herbal coffee and whether or not it is gluten free. The ingredients list of the Original Herbal Coffee reads:

Ingredients: roasted carob, organic roasted barley, chicory root, organic dates, almonds, organic chicory, organic figs, natural citrus flavor

As far as I can tell, all Teeccino brand herbal coffees contain barley and product packaging contains the statement, “Brewed Teeccino is gluten-free”.

The company website states the following in their Frequently Asked Questions:

Does Teeccino contain any gluten?

Although Teeccino contains barley, an independent laboratory at the University of Nebraska that specializes in gluten testing found no detectable levels of gluten in Teeccino. Although gluten is present in barley, it most likely does not extract out of the barley using conventional coffee brewing techniques. Gluten is not extracted by boiling water although it can be extracted using ethanol alcohol, which of course is not present in Teeccino.

For gluten sensitive customers, we highly recommend using a paper filter in a drip coffee maker to brew Teeccino so that no particles of Teeccino can leak into the brewed liquid. Ingesting small particles of Teeccino could cause sensitivity to gluten and reusable filters are not as completely reliable as paper filters in preventing particles from going through the filter during brewing.


Things to consider before trying this product…

1. Teeccino herbal coffee as sold to the consumer is not gluten free. Under FDA’s proposed rule for gluten-free labeling, a product can not be labeled gluten free if it contains “an ingredient that is a prohibited grain.” Barley is considered a prohibited grain and is the second ingredient in Teeccino herbal coffee.

2. According to two cereal chemists I consulted, gluten is minimally soluble in water.

3. Brewed Teeccino was tested for gluten at an independent laboratory using the Ridascreen Fast Gliadin assay (Sandwich R5 ELISA) and was found to contain less than 10 parts per million of gluten. I would be more comfortable with the results of the testing if the standard versus the fast gliadin assay was used. The standard version is the validated version and is more accurate. It also has been recommended to me by two cereal chemists that the Competitive R5 ELISA also be used to test this product.

4. The statement that appears on product packaging, “Brewed Teeccino is gluten-free” puts the onus on the consumer to brew the product in a way that limits the chance of coffee grounds making their way into the brewed coffee. Under laboratory conditions, the brewed coffee contained ...    Continue

1 | 2    Next Page
@ 11:44pm ET on February 9, 2010 I use a french press, and often find grounds in my coffee...pretty scary.
@ 8:30am ET on February 12, 2010 Another excellent investigative piece.
Now if we could just find out what is delaying the FDA setting the gf standard.
@ 1:02am ET on May 3, 2010 Who really is a different solution to the wind does not affect human health, but can lose weight, this is a good advice how ah!
http://ggmsn.wordpress.com
@ 10:18am ET on June 29, 2010 THANK YOU for this timely article and work. I'd just given up coffee and decaf coffee, and was looking at trying this product!

I have another product I bought but then am having second thoughts about. Could you tell me whether Garden of Life's Raw Meal Replacement (states gf) would be safe and what type of testing they do? I have called them and they said it tests gf, but I don't understand testing. I asked the rep to call me back with what type of test they use, but they never did. It has "oat, barley and wheat grasses."

Your article shows me the importance of testing, so I'm glad I didn't try the Raw Meal Replacement - cause, "When in doubt, do without!"

Raw Meal Replacement Ingredients Label: http://bit.ly/aeyEkK

Product Info page: http://bit.ly/ckMbB2

Thank you again.
@ 4:14pm ET on June 29, 2010 I found another product which has "natural grain dextrin." Safe?

(Hammer sports gel): http://bit.ly/dBTqBX
@ 4:26pm ET on June 29, 2010 Hi,

Glad you found the article helpful. I am not familiar with Garden of Life and the gluten testing they conduct on their products. In theory wheat grass and barley grass should not contain gluten protein. However, without testing there is no way of knowing whether some wheat or barley seed ended up in the juice. This company should consider testing their products using both the standard (not fast) sandwich R5 ELISA and the competitive R5 ELISA.

Hope this helps!

Tricia
@ 4:36pm ET on June 29, 2010 Hi again,

Under the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act if an ingredient in a packaged food product (including supplements) regulated by the Food and Drug Administration contains protein from wheat, the word "wheat" must be included on the food label either in the ingredients list or "Contains" statement. If the word wheat is not included on a product label, ingredients in the product do not contain wheat protein.

Hope that helps too!

Tricia
@ 1:53am ET on May 7, 2011 I love this post. thank for sharing such helpful information.

Regards
Herbalife24
http://www.herbaldiet.com/
@ 3:12pm ET on December 12, 2014 Great thorough investigation. Luckily, Teeccino now offers a CERTIFIED GF line of flavors made with organic Dandelion Root and NO BARLEY!

http://teeccino.com/category/73/Barley-Free-Dandelion-Flavors.html
Post a Comment
  Preview

McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams