Tricia Thompson, MS, RD is a nutrition consultant, author and speaker specializing in celiac disease and the gluten-free diet. She is the author of The Gluten-Free Nutrition Guide and has a MS degree in nutrition from Tufts University in Boston, Massachusetts and a BA degree in English Literature from Middlebury College in Vermont.

» Meet Tricia Thompson, MS, RD
» Save Author as Favorite
» See all TriciaThompsonMS/RD's Posts

Recent Posts

» Tips for Traveling Gluten Free
» My 5 Favorite Gluten-Free Processed Foods
» 3 Easy Ways to Increase Celiac Awareness
» 5 Gluten-Free New Year’s Resolutions
» Gluten-Free Holiday Casseroles, Cookies


» November 2008
» October 2008
» September 2008
» August 2008
» July 2008
» June 2008

Living Gluten-Free

by Tricia Thompson, MS, RD, The Gluten-Free Dietitian
Subscribe to this feed Subscribe

In 1999, Donald Kasarda, Ph.D. and Renato D’Ovidio, Ph.D. wrote the following in the journal Cereal Chemistry, “We have been approached by the leaders of celiac patient organizations in the United States to clarify the situation with regard to spelt (spelta) grain and celiac disease because so many of their members have heard that it is a safe alternative to wheat.”

It is amazing to me that 10 years later there are still some people in the gluten-free community who believe it is safe to eat this particular species of wheat. It isn’t!!

If you have been diagnosed with celiac disease, dermatitis herpetiformis, or non-celiac gluten sensitivity do not eat spelt.

In terms of plant taxonomy (think back to high school biology), spelt is a member of the genus Triticum L. (common name wheat). According to the United States Department of Agriculture, the genus wheat contains 19 species, including common wheat, durum wheat, and spelt. These species are all closely related and none of them should be eaten by anyone who can not eat gluten.

A side note: if someone uses the argument that spelt is a different species from common bread wheat to convince you of its safety, using this same logic, rye and barley should be safe for you to eat as well. Species within the same genus are more closely related to each other than they are to species in a different genus. Barley and rye each belong to a different genus than wheat. However, barley and rye are not safe for you to eat (and neither is spelt).

But don’t take my word for it or anyone else’s (including ...    Continue

1 | 2    Next Page

@ 8:58pm ET on February 15, 2009
Glad to see this article. I have also heard people promote the idea that gluten intolerant people can eat Ezekial bread because it's sprouted and there is no gluten left once it's sprouted. I didn't even bother to research that because who could believe that every grain sprouted anyhow? So much misinformation is spread by people wanting to promote a "good thing." We must be so vigilant.

Post a Comment

Hot Topics

diet, weight loss, fitness, motivation, abs, restaurants, health, calories, stress, challenge, gyms, support, goals, points, exercise, metabolism, food, recipe

Most Popular Searches

Most Popular Blogs

» Longer, Leaner Thighs: 5 Best Exercises
» We Announce The Challenge WINNER!
» Best Vitamins Dieters Not Getting
» The Dangerous Escape Food Provides
» Janel Hits The Farmers Market

Highest Rated Blogs

» 5 Healthy Pumpkin-Flavored Foods to Try This Fall
» What To Do Instead of Going on a Diet
» 5 Ways Cutting Back On Sugar Boosts Your Health
» Juicing It Up for Babies and Kids!
» A Simple Way to Please Foodies and Picky Eaters

Sign up for our free diet newsletter
We respect your privacy. We will never share your email address with a 3rd party for any reason.