|Home > Expert Blogs > Living Gluten-Free|
AboutTricia Thompson, MS, RD is a nutrition consultant, author and speaker specializing in celiac disease and the gluten-free diet. She is the author of The Gluten-Free Nutrition Guide and has a MS degree in nutrition from Tufts University in Boston, Massachusetts and a BA degree in English Literature from Middlebury College in Vermont.
» Meet Tricia Thompson, MS, RD
» Save Author as Favorite
» See all TriciaThompsonMS/RD's Posts
Recent Posts» Tips for Traveling Gluten Free
» My 5 Favorite Gluten-Free Processed Foods
» 3 Easy Ways to Increase Celiac Awareness
» 5 Gluten-Free New Year’s Resolutions
» Gluten-Free Holiday Casseroles, Cookies
Archive» November 2008
» October 2008
» September 2008
» August 2008
» July 2008
» June 2008
Historically, the use of oats in gluten-free diets has been very controversial. This controversy has died down substantially in recent years thanks to numerous studies that have found the daily intake of moderate amounts of gluten-free oats to be safe for the vast majority of persons with celiac disease.
So what exactly are “gluten-free oats?"
The Food and Drug Administration states in their proposed rule for the labeling of food as gluten-free that oats and oat products may be labeled gluten free as long as the final food product contains less than 20 parts per million of gluten.
It is important to understand that oats themselves do not contain gluten but may become contaminated with gluten anywhere along the line from field to market. For example, oats are frequently grown in rotation with or next to gluten-containing grains. As a consequence, there may be the occasional wheat or barley plant growing among the oat plants. When the oats are harvested, wheat and barley will be harvested too.
Are oats on store shelves gluten free?
Typically the oats you find on the grocery store shelf are not gluten free. A few years ago I tested three brands of commercially available oat products for gluten. Not one of the brands consistently tested gluten free and some batches contained very high levels of gluten.
As a result, it is highly recommended that you eat only those oats that are gluten free. While the FDA rule on gluten-free labeling has not been finalized, there are a handful of companies in the United States and Canada who are producing oats that are gluten free based on testing. These companies are accomplishing this through very careful growing, harvesting, transporting, and processing procedures.
There also are an increasing number of manufacturers of gluten-free foods incorporating oats into their products. It is important to make sure the oats they are using are gluten free.
You may be wondering what exactly companies do to ensure their oats are gluten free. The owners of Cream Hill Estates agreed to tell us.
“Cream ... Continue
Hot Topicsdiet, weight loss, fitness, motivation, abs, restaurants, health, calories, stress, challenge, gyms, support, goals, points, exercise, metabolism, food, recipe
Most Popular Searches
Most Popular Blogs» Longer, Leaner Thighs: 5 Best Exercises
» We Announce The Challenge WINNER!
» Best Vitamins Dieters Not Getting
» The Dangerous Escape Food Provides
» Janel Hits The Farmers Market
Highest Rated Blogs» The Top 10 Workout Songs for March 2015
» Losing Weight as a Couple: 7 Secrets to Success
» Buying & Preparing Lamb: The Basics
» Cardio Beyond Running: What Are Your Options?
» The Road to Being Booty-ful