|Home > Expert Blogs > Living Gluten-Free|
AboutTricia Thompson, MS, RD is a nutrition consultant, author and speaker specializing in celiac disease and the gluten-free diet. She is the author of The Gluten-Free Nutrition Guide and has a MS degree in nutrition from Tufts University in Boston, Massachusetts and a BA degree in English Literature from Middlebury College in Vermont.
» Meet Tricia Thompson, MS, RD
» Save Author as Favorite
» See all TriciaThompsonMS/RD's Posts
Recent Posts» Tips for Traveling Gluten Free
» Gluten-Free: The Truth About 'Leaky Gut'
» My 5 Favorite Gluten-Free Processed Foods
» 3 Easy Ways to Increase Celiac Awareness
» 5 Gluten-Free New Year’s Resolutions
Archive» November 2008
» October 2008
» September 2008
» August 2008
» July 2008
» June 2008
My colleagues (Anne Lee, Schar, USA and Thomas Grace, Bia Diagnostics) and I recently published findings from a pilot study on grain contamination in the June issue of the Journal of the American Dietetic Association (Thompson T, Lee AR, Grace T. Gluten Contamination of Grains, Seeds, and Flours in the United States: A Pilot Study. J Am Diet Assoc. 2010;110:937-940). What follows is a summary of study findings.
Bottom line: Seven of 22 (32%) samples tested contained mean gluten levels above 20 ppm with amounts ranging from 25 to 2,925 ppm.
Why we conducted this study: In the FDA’s proposed rule for labeling of food as gluten free, single ingredient foods, such as corn, rice, and millet are considered inherently gluten free. These grains will be considered misbranded if they carry a gluten-free label that does not also state that all foods of that same type are gluten free (e.g. “all millet is gluten free” or “millet, a gluten-free food”).
Oats are the only grain that will not be considered misbranded if they carry a gluten-free label and do not also state that all foods of the same type are gluten free. In fact, because research suggests that commercially available oats may be contaminated with wheat, barley, and rye, labeled gluten-free oats will be considered misbranded if the label implies that all oats are gluten free.
Unfortunately, oats may not be the only naturally gluten-free grain contaminated with gluten.
What we tested: Twenty-two naturally gluten-free grains, seeds, and flours NOT labeled gluten-free were tested in duplicate using the Ridascreen Gliadin sandwich R5 ELISA with cocktail extraction. Seven of the 22 products contained a voluntary allergen advisory statement for wheat; 15 did not. Products included white rice and flour, brown rice, corn meal, polenta, buckwheat and buckwheat flour, amaranth seed and flour, flax seed, millet grain and flour, sorghum flour, and soy flour.
Findings: Thirteen of 22 (59%) products contained below the limit of quantification for gluten which is 5 ppm for the assay used. Of these 13 products, 3 contained a voluntary allergen advisory statement for wheat. Nine of 22 (41%) products contained more than the limit of quantification for gluten, with mean gluten levels ranging from 8.5 to 2,925. Of these ... Continue
Hot Topicsdiet, weight loss, fitness, motivation, abs, restaurants, health, calories, stress, challenge, gyms, support, goals, points, exercise, metabolism, food, recipe
Most Popular Searches
Most Popular Blogs» Longer, Leaner Thighs: 5 Best Exercises
» We Announce The Challenge WINNER!
» Best Vitamins Dieters Not Getting
» The Dangerous Escape Food Provides
» Janel Hits The Farmers Market
Highest Rated Blogs» Step Out of Your Comfort Zone
» Portion Control Tools - Our Top Picks!
» Walking Promotes Normal Memory Health
» It's Easy Eating Green
» Spicy Turkey Lettuce Wraps!