Action Plan Ideas     New User?   Already a member?  Log in!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    View all forums -> Getting Emotional - Let's Talk About It
View previous topic :: View next topic  
jasmine17

Total Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Nov 20, 2004 12:38 am    Post subject: Action Plan Ideas Reply with quote

Hi All. I'm new to diet.com, and am looking foward to a new approach to eating. I think that I am already aware of the emotions that are triggering me to eat, which seem to be virtually all emotions. Last week, 1) I overate at lunch because I was stressed about work, 2) went out to eat even though I wasn't hungry because I was bored 3) ordered too much Italian take-out because I wanted to celebrate, etc, etc. Would you share some action plan ideas that work for you when coping with emotions. (I can intellectually come up some ideas, but would like to hear those that others have had some success with.) Thanks!!
DrDiet
Site Admin

Total Posts: 4945

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi and welcome to diet.com!

The key is to develop your action plan ideas when you're not in the midst of feeling the emotions that are causing you to eat.

Here are some action plans that help my patients:

When they're stressed, they may journal their thoughts (which means you need to carry a pocket size journal with you at all times), talk it out with someone they trust or go for a walk.

When they're bored, they may log onto an internet chat group, call a friend, write a letter to a friend or take a walk with a buddy which could be a work colleague, your spouse, neighbor or even your dog.

When feeling elated and wanting to celebrate, they may call family or friends to spread the good news or treat themselves to something they enjoy such as going to a spa or renting a funny movie or scheduling a date with a special friend.

The key is to develop an action plan that works for you.

What action plan have you tried so far?
jasmine17