Cafeteria Food - Processed Food     New User?   Already a member?  Log in!

View previous topic :: View next topic  
julielowry

Total Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2006 4:03 pm    Post subject: Cafeteria Food - Processed Food Reply with quote

Hi, Everyone! I'm new to diet.com, so here goes: I'm 5'4" 141, looking to get down to about 125. Starting some weight training at my work's gym, and am planning on some kind of cardio. Right now my big challenge is that I LOVE junkfood, processed food, etc. I like cooking, but only when I'm in the mood (maybe once or twice a week.) The rest of the time I want something quick and/or easy. So, (1) what do I do at lunch when I go to the cafeteria and am surrounded by cookies, burgers, etc., and (2) what do I do when I get home from work, don't feel like cooking, and grab a frozen pizza? How do I "reprogram" myself, and what do I reprorgam myself to do?
mackadoodle

Total Posts: 1342

PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2006 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since you only like to cook about twice a week, you could try making huge batches of everything...so you have leftovers.

I make everything in huge batches. Even my oatmeal...and scrambled eggwhites. I make enough of those to last 4 days.

I also precook meats/seafood, veggies, rice, potatoes. (or at least get it prepped & ready to cook quickly). Pretty much everything that I want in my diet...is planned & prepped. That way everything is ready to either:
*cook very quickly
*or just needs to be re-heated
*or ready to eat as is
*or grab on the go...out the door...to take to work with me...so I don't eat cafeteria junk.

I don't know how you can re-program yourself...but if you're serious about getting into rockin' hot shape...then you need to be serious about cleaning up your diet. That simple.